Champions Cup

All of the top players on tour over the course of the World Curling Tour season all take part in the Champions Cup, a new addition to the Grand Slam of Curling as of 2015, which has been contested twice at the men's and women's divisions since its inception. In this guide to the Champions Cup, we will recap the format of the event, the qualification process, and everything else you need to know.

There are 15 qualifying spots up for grabs on the men's and women's sides of the Champions Cup. Teams can qualify for the event by winning a number of different qualifying events, which include prestigious competitions such as the Grand Slam of Curling events, the Winter Olympics, and many others. In the event that a team wins more than one qualifying event, the winner of another World Curling Tour event will be chosen to compete based on the strength of the field in all of the World Curling Tour competitions.

A total of 15 teams will be included in the Champions Cup on both the men's and women's sides, with those 15 teams being broken up into three pools of five teams each. Those five team groups play a round robin against one another, with the top eight teams being advanced into the playoff rounds, where the quarterfinals, semifinals, and championship match will determine who the Champions Cup winner will be for both the men and women.

The prize pool for both the men's and women's versions of the Champions Cup is at least $100,000, which is on par with the other events of the Grand Slam of Curling. However, while there may be other events that pay out similar money during the grand slam, the Champions Cup is still one of the more exciting and more prestigious events on the World Curling Tour calendar.

Past winners of the Champions Cup include Reid Carruthers and Brad Jacobs on the men's side, and Jennifer Jones and Rachel Homan on the women's side. With so many elite players on each side of the draw in the Champions Cup, it is a truly great accomplishment to come out on top of the Champions Cup, thanks to the fact that only teams that have won high level competitions over the past season can consider themselves entered into the event. While this tournament is young, it will be memorable for years to come.